Facebook ‘Manage Activity’ Is a Long Overdue Privacy Feature

Throughout its 16 years of existence, Facebook has struggled to provide the privacy controls users really want and need to safeguard the data they post to the platform. It’s been a challenging project, with plenty of major detours along the way. But today Facebook is announcing a new tool for managing your posts. It may be the most intuitive version of the controls yet, because it’s basically what Gmail has offered for email since the year Facebook launched.

The new feature, known as Manage Activity will create the concept of an “archive” on Facebook, allowing you to move any or all of your past posts to a secret new home that only you can see. Manage Activity will also introduce a Facebook Trash folder so you can delete posts more easily. The new feature is rolling out in Facebook’s mobile apps first.

“Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook,” the company says in a blog post.

have a peek at this web-site
Source
have a peek here
Check This Out
this contact form
navigate here
his comment is here
weblink
check over here
this content
have a peek at these guys
check my blog
news
More about the author
click site
navigate to this website
my review here
get redirected here
useful reference
this page
Get More Info
see here
this website
great post to read
my company
imp source
click to read more
find more info
see it here
Homepage
a fantastic read
find this
Bonuses
read this article
click here now
browse this site
check here
original site
my response
pop over to these guys
my site
dig this
i thought about this
check this link right here now
his explanation
why not try these out
more info here
official site
look at this site
check it out
visit
click for more info
check these guys out
view publisher site
Get More Information
you can try this out
see this
learn this here now
directory
why not find out more
navigate to these guys
see this here
check my site
anchor
other
additional hints
look at this web-site
their explanation
internet
find more
Read More Here
here
Visit Website
hop over to this website
click
her latest blog
This Site
read review
try here
Clicking Here

Screenshot: Facebook

Archive and Trash are two concepts most people are familiar with from email. As with Gmail, posts you move to the trash will stay there for 30 days and then be deleted unless you manually eliminate them sooner or reinstate them. And Manage Activity is introducing batch actions for multiple posts at once so you can view and organize in bulk, rather than going post by post. You can filter by date ranges, types of posts (Photos and Videos, Posts From Other Apps, etc.), specific people, and other categories, and then select individual posts, batch-archive, or batch-delete as needed.

If you archive or delete a post that people are tagged in they’ll lose access to the post. Facebook says they won’t be notified of the change, though, so you can archive stealthily. You can’t archive other people’s posts that you are tagged in—this is only for content you’ve shared.

Facebook already offers a Select Privacy menu for each of your posts where you can choose who can view the content; your options include Public, Friends, Specific friends, and so on. In some ways, archiving a post will be similar to choosing Only Me, in the sense that only you will be able to view the post and no one else. But if you’ve been using Only Me as a makeshift archiving feature, Manage Activity isn’t going to help put everything in one place. All archived posts will show up in one place, but Facebook says there isn’t a way to view the collection of posts you’ve marked Only Me.